Death’s story

Another random bit of prose for you.

If you were to draw Death what would you draw? A skeleton in a big black cloak with a scythe perhaps? Something that at least looks undead? At the very least a dark presence? I tell you you’re wrong, I am none of these things. Go, look in the mirror, there I am as you shall see me. When I was younger I may have gone to scare my clients with the whole “grim reaper” getup, but now the wisdom of ages tells me to comfort them. Can you think of anything more comforting as being the face of Death when you go? I suppose I may be wrong, not being able to die myself, buy I’m fairly sure I’m right, at least most people seem to appreciate it, I think. Let me guess, you’re now thinking “This anthropomorphic personification seems to be too nice (and foggy minded) to be Death, the fourth rider, the pale horseman, He who shall have the whole of Hades behind him during the apocalypse” (or something along those lines) but I’m sure you’d have the right to be a bit senile if you were the second oldest being with a finite lifespan in the cosmos (second because there is no point in having Death with nothing to die if you see what I mean finite because come then end there’s no point in having Death when anything that can die has died)

As you can tell I have a fascination with the character of Death and the whole concept of death. Sorry if you dislike my morbid and melancholic ways. Hope you enjoy it, please comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on December 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Death’s story”

  1. “When I was younger I may have gone to scare my clients with the whole “grim reaper” getup, but now the wisdom of ages tells me to comfort them.”

    I have to say that while I enjoyed the piece as a whole that one line really stood out to me. Out of all of the vignette that line made him, to me, the most human (ha ha) and understandable. Excellent work.
    –The Lady Jane.

    • Thank you greatly for your kind words, they are truly encouraging to one who only dabbles in prose (and is a poor poet in all honesty). I also like that line the best out of the whole piece. Hopefully one day I’ll find a story to put him in.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
