Why can I not sleep?

Another poem about my continuing insomnia,

Why can I not sleep?

What crop do I reap?

Why is this my lot?

Why this forfeit got?

What was my offence?

Where is my defence?

I cannot upkeep,

This denial of sleep.

If you wonder why many of my poems are about insomnia, its because they are written at horrific times in the morning (e.g. this was written at about quater past two on a sunday morning). Hope you enjoy. Please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on January 2, 2011.

6 Responses to “Why can I not sleep?”

  1. :). i relate. lots of times i have found me writing my best pieces in weird hours of the morn/night.
    Lovely piece this.

  2. what fun wonders..

    🙂

  3. I really like this piece. Personally I have never had a problem with not being able to sleep. Its the exact opposite actually , sleeping too much, thats my problem haha!

Leave a Reply

 
