3 a.m. (3a.m. funeral part 1)

A new bit of prose for you, this one’s going to be at least a 2 parter so when the next part is posted I’ll set up a new page where the story can be read in full (or as close to complete as it is at the time)

3 a.m.

“It was 3 a.m. and the phone was ringing, as I picked the damn thing up and looked at the caller ID, Rabbie. What the hell did my erratic sarcastic best friend want at 3 in the bloody morning?

“Hi Fael, its Rabbie, how are you”

Fael, that’s me, short for Faelan, or Fáelán if you want to be posh, you can thank my Irish parents for that one

“Dude what do you want at fricking 3 a.m., can I not sleep anymore?”

“Fael I’m in some crap, I mean real deep in a whole load of real bad crap. I need some help man, meet me on the old field down by the canal. Oh yeah and bring a shovel.” Then he hung up.

“Damn that Scottish son of a…” I started mumbling to myself as I got dressed ready for whatever daft crap Rabbie needed me to dig him out of. I stood for a couple of minutes combing my hair from my eyes. In the mirror I saw a skinny 18 year old of 6 foot nothing with ginger hair down to his armpits and the most washed out grey eyes ever, I mean they’re almost white themselves, wearing a plain grey T and baggy jeans ripped in goodness knows how many places. Once my hair was brush strait I grabbed the shovel from the garage and started the 10 minute walk to the old field.

Hope you enjoy, please comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on January 9, 2011.

2 Responses to “3 a.m. (3a.m. funeral part 1)”

  1. I thought I’d return the favour and leave a comment of my own. I really like this piece; it has enough tension built in just this short piece to grab the reader’s attention, but is also light hearted enough to allow the readers to warm to the characters, Fael at least. I’d very much like to read more!

    Regards in writing,
    Mr. Craiggy.

    • For someone who views themself as more of a poet than an author (and a poor poet at that), your words mean a great deal to me Mr Craiggy, hopefully I’ll be able to work out how the next part is going to play out, and work out a few kinks in Rabbie’s character. So hopefully part two will be posted soon. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
