My Cauterised Mind

I’m not the type to show my emotions, due to this some people I know have called me sociopathic (in a joking way), here’s a poem I wrote while contemplating the idea of sociopathy and me

.

My cauterised mind

To emotion blind

Yet my caring heart

At emotions start

.

They think I feel not

That my heart does rot

That I have no soul

It’s as black as coal

.

I conceal my self

For my mental health

Yet that does not mean

My soul is unclean

.

For others I feel

Try help their ordeal

Their burden to ease

So hide my disease

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.


Thanks to those who voted for me for this. I nominate Lunawitch15 for week 40 (http://lunawitch15.wordpress.com/). Thank you Jingle for running the rally (http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/) and thanks also to those behind the scenes, I’m sure I speak for all the participants when I say you are all amazing.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on March 10, 2011.

6 Responses to “My Cauterised Mind”

  1. You are not a sociopath! I knew one intimately–so feel I am somewhat of an expert in this condition. *Smile*…

    I love your very sweet, expressive poem that tells how sensitive you really are.

    • Oh I know I’m not a sociopath, its just that my usual mask for people who I actually know shows very few emotions, its just something I do because I feel I should be helping them not asking for their help. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • Sometimes if you allow someone to give you a helping hand it can be a gift to them too. You know how that works…

        You’re welcome.

        • Indeed what you say is true, but we are who we become. I have created a mask for people and they don’t expect to see me out of it, so I grow to stay in it, no matter what (read The Mask [https://lonelyrecluse.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/the-mask/] for a more eloquent explanation.)
          The Lonely Recluse.

  2. Oh wow. It’s like you’re in my brain. That was really amazing.

Leave a Reply

 
