Society

A totally different poem to my normal 5 syllable AABB rhymes. Hope that doesn’t detract.

.

“Humanity is conformity
Conformity is society
Society is this reality”

Dub FX – Society Gates [ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gc67C94wSx0&feature=channel_video_title ]

.

If society

Is reality

Then am I not in reality

For I shun society

And all its connected conformity

Does this mean that I lack humanity?

Or have I just lost my insanity

For insanity

Is the true humanity

And conformity

Is just uniformity

Uniformity

Is a deformity

Upon Insanity

And its connected humanity

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on March 16, 2011.

50 Responses to “Society”

  1. I have nominated you for the well-deserved Versatile Blogger Award:
    http://tothinkornottothink.wordpress.com/awards/

    debi

  2. Can I ask how I go about accepting this award debi, thanks for the nomination.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  3. I really like this. Very level-headed thinking in this one!

  4. Well now I’m a new fan of Dub FX. I used the link you provided to YouTube and hung around awhile listening to his music. He’s phenomenal–I’m really impressed. I had never heard of him. I also looked him up on Wikipedia and found out that the song, “Society’s Gates” is loosely based on the life of philosopher Socrates–wow.

    I think Dub FX was slamming society and it’s “reality” don’t you think.

  5. Ah, I see your point. OK, now have listened to “Soothe Your Pain”–love it. I sure hope this guy is making boatloads of money these days–he sure deserves it! Thanks for the introduction.

  6. It’s a thinker. Really interesting.

  7. Brilliant! Conformity is certainly a deformity, and the people who seek to be on the road less travelled seldom conform! Really like the structure.

  8. you made me think and think — just what I need 🙂

  9. love the word play,
    well put..
    🙂

    keep shining.

  10. but then it is us who form the society… we can form a society with our own ideals. 🙂
    what a powerful write…
    beautifully structured and thoughtful words,

    Thursday Rally

  11. love this! What is normal? I think I’m abnormal because I’m normal 🙂 xoxo

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it Sherry. Normal is non-existant as we are all different, it is impossible to define a normal on any life involved thing, e.g. you can’t go “they do not see this the same as I do therefore they are abnormal”. It is one of the main themes running through my poetry, that insanity is existance, that tee is no being sane. It’s best shown in my only sonnet – “Insanity” [https://lonelyrecluse.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/insanity-a-sonnet/]
      The Lonely Recluse.

  12. As a senior in high school I remember once I saying I was non-conformist and this goofy, smart-alecky boy in my class said, “You can’t be a non-conformist when you’re conforming to non-conformity”. At the time I wasn’t confident enough to say anything back.

    This poem reminds me of all the things I wanted to say back and why I can say them now.

    ~queenly~

  13. “For I shun society
    And all its connected conformity…”

    Right on!! Such an awesome poem.

  14. very interesting thought behind this piece of writing and somehow I do agree with youe opinion.

    Does this mean that I lack humanity?

    Or have I just lost my insanity

    For insanity

    Is the true humanity

    these are my favourite lines!

  15. Wow, am so much in love with this poem, the type of poem you secretly wishes you wrote, thanks for sharing this great art of work.

  16. Had to re-read this one a few times, twisted as it is… VERY, very nice !
    Happy Rally
    JL&B

  17. This is beautiful as it expresses thoughts most like to suppress in this conform to rules world.

    • Thats the whole point, there is no reason to conform as there is nothing to conform to, there is no true “normal” it is a falsehood. Sadly not many folk like to admit it because most people want something to conform with to make themselves feel accepted. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  18. I fully agree. One needs escape from tyranny of society.

  19. Wonderful to be reading a pure angle of truth about society, and how humanity is formed around it. I think insanity is another form of internal recognition, and an awareness that goes deep into the unknown of the universal consciousness, which is what we are all a part of. Beautiful, thank you for sharing. Enjoyed very much, especially the lyrical flow of the twist on words in connection to all that is.

    • Thank you, I’m happy to see that it is not just me who sees the futility of society. Insanity is not really existential as we have no “norm” to call “sane” to be able to say “you do not conform to the norm, the sane, ergo you are insane”. There is no norm. The lyricality will come from it being based off a song. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  20. Very interesting site. Hope it will always be alive!

  21. I enjoyed reading this a lot…

    I really hope to read more of your posts in the future, so I’ve bookmarked your blog. But I couldn’t just bookmark it, oh no.. When I see quality website’s like this one, I like to share it with others So I’ve created a backlink to your site (from …

  22. Hey,

    What happened to your follow up article?

  23. I agree with Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia that, “Reality is the state of things as they actually exist, rather than as they may appear or may be thought to be.” At any give time where you choose to live and maintain your existence is your reality. I also choose to live on the fringe.

    • If such is true then how can we know what reality actually is, or indeed if it does exist, seeing as we can not truly tell what does or does not actually exist, all we can do is say what we appear to sense. Sorry thats a bit of amatuer philosophy, I’m a scientist not a philosopher so I don’t know, I was more commenting upon the song’s lyrical view on society rather than reality, but each to their own, thats the joy of poetry, everyone can interprit it as they choose.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  24. The word reality caught my attention for some reason. I’ll leave that to Freud as to why.. smiles..

    • Probably the primacy and recency effects taking action, it was the last part of the first thing you read. Yeah I have an A level in psychology so that plus chemistry equal mistrust in most Freudian psychology. Hmm sorry I’m rambling again :).
      The Lonely Recluse.

  25. Totally different but totally effective, particularly the lines about insanity and conformity being nothing more than uniformity. Are we civilized or not, or are we just uncivil?

    • Depends what you call civilized. Civil to one person is totally unacceptable to the next. But surely civility is just another form of conformity. glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  26. Engaging poem.

Leave a Reply

 
