Do You Chance To Know My Foe

A nice happy poem I wrote after inspiration from Blake’s “A poison tree”. No I have no intention on killing anyone, I wouldn’t write a poem about it if I did.

.

Do you chance to know my foe

Where he lives and where he will go

Do you chance to know his game

So I can win and claim my fame

.

Can you teach me of my hate

Of his home and of his locked gate

Can you teach me how to kill

By the blade and poison pill

.

Will you show me where to hide

Where I can duck and how to slide

Will you show me when to run

And where to throw a smoking gun

.

Do you wish to help my plight

To witness my wrath burning bright

Do you wish to see him die

And help me far away to fly

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on April 27, 2011.

8 Responses to “Do You Chance To Know My Foe”

  1. Excellent. I love this. Somehow the feel of this wasn’t all that sinister–there was a bit of fun to it–at least for me.

  2. Wow, that’s really good. It kind of sounded like someone in an insane asylum, or a child maybe. Someone helpless and they were saying, you want this guy to be dead too so help me. Fascinating. I love it and usually I don’t like stuff about killing. Loved the rhythm too.

    • I’m delighted you enjoyed it Faith. I didn’t originally notice the insane edge but now reading back, you’re right there is definitely a fevered insanity to it. The rhythm and all the poem is based off the first stanza of William Blake’s “A Poison Tree”
      “I was angry with my friend
      I told my wrath, my wrath did end
      I was angry with my foe
      I told it not, my wrath did grow”
      So that deserves any praise for rhythm.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. pretty cool. In a coming for ya kind of way.lol nice job

Leave a Reply

 
