Misanthropy

A poem I wrote while in a library having to listen to a pair of plastic people talking about their “perfect” plastic lives, it just grated so this came to mind.

.

Misanthropy is

Making my rage fizz

Can I not have peace

Silence my release

Be gone from my sight

Before I take flight

Your idiocy

It does annoy me

Your trivial talk

Is a pointless squawk

The much wasted breath

Shall cause a quick death

It’s the only way

To keep you at bay

The needed violence

To give me silence

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on May 11, 2011.

18 Responses to “Misanthropy”

  1. I’ve felt this frustration before. No more anger than frustration especially at people who think their conversation is more important than the rules of the library.

    • I’m naturally tended towards seclusion and silence anyway, so that mixed with being in the library (and I think I was just having a bad day) is a good mix for me being misanthropic. It was definitely a bit more than mere frustration at the ignorance of College’s library rules.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. I too can easily go to that place of misanthropy. Sometimes my too-critical nature can get the best of me. And plastic people are on my list of those to avoid.

    I also have a hermit-like tendency and probably enjoy my own company more than is socially acceptable! Oh, well.

    I like your poem, TLR and your explanation of how you came to write it. Yep, I can relate!

    • Sounds like we have a fair bit in common Bodhirose, especially the withdrawl from society (hence the name for me). I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, and even more so that you could relate.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. Woah. You wrote what I am thinking a lot of days, esp. about ‘fake’ people. Well done!

  4. Haha! I know exactly how you feel.It’s always better to write a poem than bashing their teeth in just to make them stop talking 😀
    Nicely put!

  5. very powerful words my friend, best you don’t go round cutting people to shreds with them! (that is a compliment by the way!)

    • Thank you for your kind words mbwilliams. It takes too much restraint not to just cut them to shreds, never mind with words. I found silence was the best way to keep them uncut and me out of trouble :). Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. I love this… And I like the way you write it.
    Two thumbs up! 🙂

    Hope you’ll visit my latest work: http://inellezshayra.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/this-is-not-a-love-story/

    Good day!

  7. Your trivial talk

    Is a pointless squawk

    yes yes yes so so much is….nice

  8. you made me smile. thank you 🙂

  9. “The much wasted breath

    Shall cause a quick death”

    I like that… if only… nice piece of work.
    It’s serious and yet I found amusement in it. clever

    • I meant it as a much more violent thought than “if you keep wasting words your natural life shall be a few years shorter”. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and found the more amusing aspect of it. Thanks for the kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
