Look In The Mirror

This poem started out as something after looking into the mirror in the toilet at college, kind of an internal demon mocking me, then as I wrote it I put the second half to it as a counter, and it became a Christian influenced poem, the joys of strange thought patterns.

.

Look in the mirror

Killer

What do you see?

Murderer

Look into the cold stare

Freak

What do you find?

Psychopath

.

Knowing what you could do

Unstable

Will you ever fall?

Dangerous

Knowing that you could kill

Snake

Will you ever act?

Disturbed

.

Seeing your cold soul

Deviant

How can you survive?

Monster

Seeing your warped thoughts

Weirdo

How can you still stand?

MUR-DER-ER

.

.

As I stare in the mirror

Killer

I see a fallen man

Murderer

As I stare into my dead eyes

Freak

I find a dirty thing

Psychopath

.

Yes, I know what I could do

Unstable

But I will not fall

Shush

I know I could kill

Snake

Yet I shall not act

Silence

.

My soul is not so cold

No

I survive on faith

NO

Though my thoughts may be warped

STOP

I stand on my Saviour’s grace

…..

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on May 25, 2011.

8 Responses to “Look In The Mirror”

  1. Good for you.

  2. Excellent post thanks for sharing. I enjoy reading and also writing poetry myself. Feel free to check it out. You have a great layout here!

  3. This makes me wonder how close some of us are to “snapping”. Pretty close I think.

    I could feel the struggle of the “soul” to maintain its “goodness”.

    Well done, TLR!

    • Many people are near snapping, more people than care to admit it, even to themselves. That’s my problem, I know that all it’ll take is the snap and I’d quite easily kill in fairly cold blood, which can torment me at times (the whole thing of this poem). I’m glad you felt my struggle. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  4. I love the patterns in this poem…both structural and emotional. I am glad you have managed to override your demons with your faith. Stay strong!!

Leave a Reply

 
