You, Me and Mr Nobody

A nice fun poem inspired by one of my favourite kids poems – Mr Nobody (I would give you a link but all the pages give different versions) I hope you have as much fun reading both this and the original (if you bother finding it) as I had writing/reading them myself.

.

You, Me and Mr. Nobody

We get all the blame

Us three

If it wasn’t You

It were Me

If not Me

Then Mr. Nobody

And if not Mr. Nobody

Then clearly

It was You

So you see

We get all the blame

Us three

You, Me and Mr. Nobody

 .

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on June 1, 2011.

48 Responses to “You, Me and Mr Nobody”

  1. Haha! I went and found the poem and I instantly related. Then I read yours. You are a genius. I loved it.

    • Mr Nobody is a brilliant peom isn’t it? Though this is probably my favourite poem of my own writings, I think genius is a bit of a strong word for what I am, as C.S. Lewis said
      “Don’t use words too big for the subject. Don’t say “infinitely” when you mean “very”; otherwise you’ll have no word left when you want to talk about something really infinite.”
      But thank you for your overly kind words anyway.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. It used to be all three when I was wee.

  3. Hi, I enjoyed the play of words greatly. Seemed to recall vaguely we used to do something similar as kids.
    Keep the ideas flowing!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the words Clariice. Thank you for your kind compliment. I think everyone has at one point or another blamed something on the infamous Mr Nobody, and everyone has definitely blamed the you mentioned.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  4. playful,
    very lovely entry.
    Thanks for the fun.

    🙂

  5. Don’t use words too big for the subject!!! I was just writing about that, (or so I thought!)

    Mr. Nobody is the perfect fall guy. Takes a licking and keeps on squeeling. A fun and retro post. Back to childhood I go!

    • But using gargantuan idioms to fabricate intelligence (big words to sound clever) is so fun. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind and thought provoking comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. DE – LIGHTFUL!! 😀

  7. So cute–very creative and who can’t relate. Well done–brought a grin!

  8. Beautiful tribute to Mr. Nobody 🙂

  9. 🙂 Love it!

  10. This is very clever and so true =)

  11. A cartoon (The Family Circle, I believe) in the daily paper, does a play on Mr. Nobody every once in a while. It’s almost as good as your poem.

  12. I read this and the first thin that came to mind were broken items and “Nobody” was always blamed.

    “Did you break this?”
    “No”
    “Who broke it then?”
    “Nobody”

    Considering I am an only child, Mr. Nobody was indeed me.

    It is an intelligent write Recluse.

    • I am the youngest of three, so there was always an attempt to push the blame oonto someone else, often with my Mum going “well it can’t have been Mr Nobody can it?”. Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  13. Hey Hey, what up, anyway It is still great man, i have now read it several times from facebook and here gives me a small thrill each time. Hope all is well and ta ta for now.

  14. […] The Lonely Recluse https://lonelyrecluse.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/you-me-and-mr-nobody/ […]

  15. Hahaha..short and nice!..read something like this for the first time at your space..or i had not checked earlier 😛

    Alcina

    • Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the compliment. Sadly I don’t understand what your saying you first read on my space, so if you could clarify that I would be greatful.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • I meant that i have read your poems only when i had come across them in the rally otherwise haven’t read you..so i had found this piece of your a bit different in type but i said may be you must have written like this before too but i only read it for the first time through this poem 🙂

        Got it?

        • Ah, I understand now. To be honest you don’t miss very many of my poems, I only post twice a week. This is the first poem of its kind written by me so its unsurprising that its the first of its kind you’ve read by me.
          The Lonely Recluse.

  16. This is cute and quite clever. 🙂

  17. Well, young Owl … you have paid me a very lovely compliment for those two ole Norse Ravens were indeed wise ones. Aren’t wolves and ravens wonderful creatures? This was a very clever poem that you penned … I enjoyed it. But, “Lonely Recluse”? If you are lonely why are you reclusive?

    • If you look at it from the wolf’s point of view it becomes less of a compliment, sadly the norse villified wolves in most of their mythology. From the Gleipnir reference I would probably have implyed that your wolf friend is Fenrir, possibly not the best connotation. Aye wolves and ravens are wonderful creatures, as are most of tthe creature that were seen as omens and portents in the old days. I’m gla you enjoyed the poem and thank you for your kind words. My name is more the other way round – I am a recluse yet I sometimes suffer lonelyness. I am a recluse by nature, I play by a different rule set to society, of which a central view is truth, so I often come into conflict with many part of societies accepted ways.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  18. Delightful piece. Shades of Margaritaville. 😉

  19. Nicely done! Reminds me of one of my favourite little rhymes:

    As I was walking down the stair,
    I met a man who wasn’t there.
    He wasn’t there again today.
    I wish that he would go away.

    • I seem to remember that rhyme, though I know not where from, it was very enjoyable to read. Thank you for your ind words, I’m glad you enjoyed the poem.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  20. Very sweet and lyrical. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  21. Simply impressive ..
    I like the how the emotions flows throughout the poetry
    Here’s mine poetry work ..
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/satisfy-the-hunger-of-success/

    HAPPY RALLY !! xD

    • Thank you ash, I didn’t realise it was a parrticularly emotional piece, more just a bit of a laugh, but thats the joy of peotry isn’t it – interpritation. Glad you liked it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  22. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!GREAT TITLE!

  23. Killer! As i was reading I found my head drifting towards two very different images; the Family Circus cartoon with the ghost Mr. Nobody and then the 68 animated Spiderman with Dr. Noah Body – I would have liked to have had it stir a memory of attempting to maintain my innocence at some little mischief as a child but at my house, if I had not already done something, it was assumed that I would eventually~

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. Sadly I don’t know the two images that it evoked for you. With having two brothers I could always try and shift the blame onto them, the “You” mentioned in the poem, it didn’t often work though. Thanks for the kind comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
