Strangeways

Another piece of prose about a hitman, this one is locked up though.

.

“Officer, if I were you I wouldn’t put me in a cell with those creatures.” It was my first day in prison and I was trying to keep the paper work down.

“Shut up and get in before I make the med room your permanent cell.” Turns out they put resident twist in charge of me, that’s going to be fun.

I’m sorry, I didn’t say who I am, how rude of me. I am now inmate 105923 of HMP Manchester, formerly Strangeways, detained at Her Majesty’s pleasure for in excess of 100 counts of murder (first degree as the Yanks would put it). Ok so I was a hitman so none of it was personal, but you’d think they’d put me in my own cell. Surely I should be higher that category A, but no, they decide to put me in with these two.

As soon as the cell door shut they attempted to intimidate me, I couldn’t be bothered with them, so I pointed at the tally count on my arms, pointed to them and mimed putting two more tallies down. That shut them up.

Two nights passed before I grew bored of the company, of the attempts to screw me and the snoring at night. On the third night I pulled the flint blade out, I had smuggled it in by sewing it into my cheek. The snoring turned to gurgled gasps as my companies throats opened. Two tallies went on after I’d cleaned the blade. The guards have learnt to keep me on my own now.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on June 11, 2011.

2 Responses to “Strangeways”

  1. lovely piece of writing, cheers.

    Please join poetry potluck week 42 today,
    Feel free to submit random poems or poems unrelated to our theme.
    Cheers.
    Happy Tuesday.
    appreciate your input.

Leave a Reply

 
