Drifting

A poem on the life I want, a good bike, a long road and no worries.

.

Drifting from here to there

Dawdling along the way

Picking my path as I go

Pausing as and when I need

Such is the life I want

Stuck to no one and nothing

Without obligation and strings

Just me and a good bike

Jotting a map as I go

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on June 15, 2011.

56 Responses to “Drifting”

  1. I loved it.no worries with just a long windy road ahead. Enjoying the breeze with freedom. Keep it up!

  2. It fits your name! Solitude is great when you need it.

    • One of the many poems written about my aversion for society. I think the thing that the idea of the poem has a hold over me is the choice, being able to choose to have solitude or company on the rare occasions that I need it. So I suppose you’re right it does fit my name, rather well really.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. I’m with you.
    love biking long miles and being worrying free.
    Cheers.

    thanks for sharing.

  4. At times I believe there is a run of cloth somewhere with a few holes in it from which us reclusive types are cut.

    Your words made the wind of freedom run through this gal’s hair.

    • I’ve always prefered the Norse view of us being weaved over the idea that we are precut, to be weaved means that there could always be more coming, if your precut thats your set amount, but I think we may be of the same thred yes.
      Glad my words had such an effect upon you.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  5. I so loved this. I bike all the time. Great word choices and feel. The fresh air and freedom were evident.

    http://henryclemmonspoet.blogspot.com/2011/06/just-man-recording-is-above.html

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, it’s one of my least favourite poems (honestly I nearly didn’t share it), but it’s good to know it’s appreciated, lets hope that can go for the writer too. Glad it evoked the freedom for you. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. Hmmm..quite a nice dream..that doesn’t feels so hard to accomplish if you know hot to let it be ‘No strings attached’ ..But you know you would still have to bond up with your bike,roads and the map for the direction(unless you want to grow as a vagabond who adapts..changes and makes home anywhere and everywhere no matter what the conditions are)

    I wish the said was easy to be done!

    Alcina

    • All I need is the bike and a licence and I’m sorted. I’d just head off and see where I ended up. The map is more of a metaphor than a reality, meaning jotting a map of who I am, not where I’ve been. I am more of a vagabond type than a planner.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  7. I loved the freedom it made me feel that deep down we all want our own path mapping šŸ™‚

    • Glad it evoked freedom for you. The difference between me and many others is that I want to be the cartographer for my path, not just having someone else do it for me.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  8. It could get lonely…

  9. Without obligation and strings…ahhh, if only!! Very lovely and serene.

  10. Nicely expressed.

    What do you do about those long uphill climbs?

  11. Ah Recluse, a lighter side, nice to see. Though we all dream of freedom, and the option of doing what we desire, it takes more will to compelete our dreams than we may want to put in. Also there is usally hidden dangers along the way as well. No responsiblity is what you wish, but regardless you are still responsible for you, your health (both mental and phsyical) as well as the joy/harm we inflict unknowingly to those around us. To wish to be without strings, to be fully disconnected is truly a soul searching quest but also the lonlist one a person could take, for if there are no strings then there is no connection between you and another. Over all the piece was done well, not one of the best I have read but still a good read. Your talent is ever growing continue on your path and find that bike.

    no cause is without feeling,

    Shoeless

    • As ever a truly insightful comment shoeless. I fear we all have a lighter side, even if we do normally hide it as well as I :). I realise that true freedom is in itself bound by rules, so as such cannot exist, as true freedom means we both have the freedom to do as we please, yet fear no evil to come upon us. I also realise that I would still be responsible for myself, yet I feel that would be freer than being stuck responsible for things beyond my control. I know that to be stringless I’d need no attachment, as such I also know that this poem could not entail my whole life (sadly), I think its more of something I’d want to do to find the real me, something I feel I’d need to break the chains of society to be able to do. This is possibly my least favourite piece of my own (for structure, not content), so I can understand that it isn’t the best you’ve read. I feel it’s more the map I need over the bike, for the bike is only the journey, the map is who I am.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  12. I read some of your replies to the comments, and I can feel the sense of being ‘chained’ by a society who ‘expect’ things from you, to do, to be, to have to follow the rules and, I think I understand your yearning, because I’ve been ‘you’ over the years myself. And, I always sought solitary moments and still do enjoy peace and quiet and my own company, but the open road and a bike to ride is your dream of escape when reality is, you would only be as independant as the fuel in your gas tank took you? And really, wherever you are, on a bike, open road, or in an office, you are as free as your mind allows you to be. (If that makes sense) Even a prisoner in a small cell 23 hours of every day is free, if their mind itself is able to set itself free?
    It’s great prose because it says such a lot and has such depth of feeling in it in such a consice manner. Thanks for sharing. šŸ™‚

    • It’s only partially about freedom in the sense you speak it, for yes that is only in your mind. It’s more the freedom from people. It’s hard to explain, my standards for behaviour are significantly different to the social “norm”, as such I often find it hard to be around people, especially people who haven’t got used to me, this leads to a feeling of being trapped, chained, in society. The bike itself is partially a metaphor, yes I’d love to get away on a bike, but my feet would be just as good, I love walking as much as biking.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  13. Such a fresh open feeling to this one. I’m imagining my hair fluttering in the breeze now!!

  14. Glad the poem could evoke such strong feelings for you.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  15. It’s sad. Who will remember you if you don’t write a poem?

    • How many of those who read my poems will remember me? I need not people to remember me, only that I had some effect on those I come into contact with.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  16. you speak to me my friend, this would be a great life

  17. I can relate to the feelings that you were conveying in this piece. I really enjoyed reading your work…great job! šŸ™‚

  18. No cares no ties.. no responsibilities.. — just a place to ride and remain solitary.. sounds good.. Sounds really good sometimes..

    Awesome write..

    Cheers~~~~ Jen

  19. Invokes such a sense of freedom and adventure, I’d love to travel and write that would be wonderful

  20. Not into biking, but I totally get the feeling you describe here. The open road, or meandering through new places, with nothing to tie you down, hold you back–freedom unbound excellent piece, thanks for sharing:)

    • Biking’s not for everyone, I can understand that. The bike is partially metaphorical of the journey ahead of me, or the reader, it can be as true with a car or on foot if that is how you’d prefer it to be. Thank you for your encouraging words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  21. I like drifting … such a peaceful feeling. Your poem defines the felling well.
    Old Raven http://crowsfete.blogspot.com/

  22. So – are you going on that adventure? Are you going to take to the road, just you and your bike and make a map as you go?

    I hope you do!

    • I hope that one day I can go on this adventure, though I shall have to wait at least three years before I can. But yes, I can definitely see that it has a good possibility of happening, and I hope and pray that it may. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  23. A lovely flow of freedom.

  24. I feel the same way, except about a good skateboard and many long down hill roads.

  25. Drifting, dawdling, picking, pausing, such, stuck…just, jotting

    I enjoyed the pattern, but I also enjoyed how you broke it without obligation. A lovely write the ebbs and flows as peaceful as your ride.

    • Glad you enjoyed it Raivenne, especially the flow, personally I think it sticks at “stuck”, kinda stumbles a beat, but that might be just me. I hadn’t noticed that was what the first words came out as, almost poetic in themselves, so thanks for pointing that out. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  26. Love this, such is the life of a writer.

  27. Sad but excellent….
    I too am a recluse. Thank you.

    My main web site:
    http://cassiopeiarises.blodspot.com. I use WordPress for posting Undead Poetry
    http://cassiopeia'sblog.wordpress.com

  28. You have such an incredible language. I love your poetry very much.

    • You are too kind TC. My language is from reading far too much from far too many genres and having a slight different view on the world. I’m truly glad you love my poetry. Again thank you.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
