The Whole World Burns

I first wrote the refrain for this on my wrist because I thought of it while I was out. I decided I wanted to show that the world was burning at a personal level, as well as a global level, hence the progression from the single person, to the local area, to a nation and then to the world. It is also to highlight the fact that we generally ignore the truth, even when we can help.

.

The whole world burns

Your head just turns

Away.

.

A friend in despair

Falling to madness

You can’t stop or stare

You just hide from the sadness

.

The whole world burns

Your head just turns

Away.

.

Another killing

Over nothing great

You find it chilling

But then you plan your next date

.

The whole world burns

Your head just turns

Away.

.

Recession has hit.

The land is in debt

At home you just sit

As in your ways you are set

.

The whole world burns

Your head just turns

Away.

.

Brother fights brother

The world is at war

Truth you try smother

By checking the footy score

.

The whole world burns

Your head just turns

Away.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on June 29, 2011.

46 Responses to “The Whole World Burns”

  1. I loved it! Exactly what the rest of the world is doing when one part is in chaos.
    But the thing is, is there anything we can do about it? Everytime I think about it, I feel helpless..

    Perhaps the only thing we can do is to appreciate life on their behalf and do something meaningful with ours.

    Great work! 🙂

    • The whole world burns, not just those that are openly so. Yes we can do something about it, we can help on the small scale, instead of turn our head away at those we know in distress, go talk to them, help them if you can. We can’t stop the world burning, but we can do our best to soothe the wounds.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. away… great work here.. Here is my Rally Post, ? will my life be colourful ?

    Someone is Special

  3. powerful.
    Happy Rally.

  4. “A friend in despair
    Falling to madness
    You can’t stop or stare
    You just hide from the sadness”

    Poetic! thanks for sharing

  5. That is so true. We just stop and stare and let things happen and don’t do anything about it. It is a sad truth. Good job in turning your observation and thought in poetry.

    • Far too often we don’t even stare, at least by staring we acknowledge the problems existence. Far too often we hide our heads from reality, pretending it’s all just fine. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. a sad commentary on life

  7. Powerful poem. Your imagery and word floe are excellent. These words ring in my soul. Thank you…

    Melanie

    My main blog id :
    http://cassiopeiarises.blogspot.com

    I use WordPress to post Undead Poetry.

  8. Let us all burn, burn, burn. Well done. This one truly struck me.

    • We shall burn, but let us not hide our heads from the suffering of those around us, let us try balm the burns of them, instead of pretend nothing is happening. Glad my words had such an impact.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  9. This is powerful I love the repetition it really hits home how quick we are to look away and ignore issues. Fabulous poem

  10. though the words are sadly true, you weaved the words to a fine flow!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the flow of the words. That they are a sad truth means these words need be said all the more, otherwise the problem will be ignored.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  11. Great poem! It has a wonderful flow, and I love the refrain – especially the deliberate break between “turns” and “Away”. Well done.

    • For some reason that’s how the refrain pictured itself in my head, with a definite pause before “away” that’s why I bothered to write it down at all, I normally start a poem from the start, not from a refrain. Glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  12. This is so true. It’s a lot easier for us to deal with the silliness of everyday life, isn’t it? This poem is very aware. Thanks for posting.

    • It is easier for people to hide in the little circles they make out of society, the nicities they observe, instead of staring into the bleak truth of the suffering of those around them and, very often, their own suffering. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  13. There’s truth in this. Sometime we just don’t really want to care anymore. Sometimes we don’t know how to react, and it’s easier to just run to something else. Or maybe there’s too much that it’s become common and we are in-sensitized.

    • It isn’t always tht we don’t care anymore, it’s just we can’t cope with the amount of suffering there actually is, so we hide from it, or at least I hope that is the case, that we are still inherently loving, we just can’t cope with all the suffering, and not that we are becoming less and less humane. Thank you for your comment, it made me ponder.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  14. Such typical human nature to save oneself from all the threats, remaining hidden in a safe place while the rest of the world dies !!!
    Amazing ink !!!

  15. Caught the modern world magnificently here. It really is too easy to brush things aside, and that’s unfortunately happening too often.

    • T’is not just the modern world this speaks of, from looking back on history the same echos through the annals, it just seems more prominant at the moment due to the amount of chaos in the world. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  16. Oh how that repetition drives this brutally truthful shame of the human condition home! Your pen pierces the facade; we look at it all, yet see nothing. Bravo, Recluse.

    http://wp.me/pPury-i7

    • I’m glad that the refrain hit it’s mark with you Raivenne, though I dislike the term “human condition” – condition seems to imply an inevitability, an unchangeability of this occurance, it is neither inevitable or unchangeable in reality, it is only apathy that causes no change, otherwise there is no point me saying it. Glad you enjoyed i though.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  17. a cry for a cry… yes we all are so very concerned about all happenings.. poetic touch you have given it so nicely…

  18. The refrain really works here; it is the turning away within the context of the poem and I like that you used it repetitively. Great message.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, and found my refrain so effective, as it is a message that needs be said, covering it in nice words just makes it easier for people to swallow. Thanks for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  19. A very powerful poem! It makes you think about what we’re doing. I love the repetition of the first stanza. Well written.

    • Refrains are something I enjoy using if they can be, makes a message really stnd out, never put one at the start of a poem before though, so glad you thought it worked. I’m overjoyed to hear it caused you to think, and that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  20. The whole world burns

    Your head just turns

    Nice……

  21. Brilliant write, sad , Thank you, much appreciated, WS

  22. The part about friends hit me hard due to some situations that have been going on in my life. This is beautiful and deep and true, thankyou xxx ❤

    • That stanza is personal to me also, as I am the “friend in despair” that is without help, though it also fits a few others I know. I’m glad you enjoyed this poem, and found the truth in it. Thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  23. […] I nominate The Lonely Recluse […]

Leave a Reply

 
