Third World?

As I’ve mentioned before I spent some time out in Tanzania recently. I wrote this when I got back.

.

Third World.

.

Which is more wealthy?

This rich land

Everything dead

Dead folk

Walk on dead earth

Sit in dead rooms

Doing dead things.

.

Or

.

A poor land

Everything so alive

Vibrant people

Dance on living earth

Sit on warm stones

Singing.

.

So which is more wealthy

Our first world land

Dead yet rich

Worshipping greed

Hiding creation

Under concrete

.

Or

.

Their third world land

So alive with so little

Worshipping God

Loving creation

Hiding nothing.

.

Tell me, who is truly the third world country?

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on July 20, 2011.

46 Responses to “Third World?”

  1. Loved this! Third world country with riches to share.
    How long were in Tanzania? It sounds very inspiring indeed!

    • They have more riches than any “first world” nation. I was in Tanzania for 10 days, 2 spent on safari in the Serengeti, the rest spent teaching R.E. to school children. It was absolutly amazing and so very inspiring. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. This concept is pretty enlightening to me..And your words are so true..makes us step back and think if this is what we really wish to have..

    Nicely weaved..

    P.S.-The first thing i was doing was looking for where your work for the rally is but didn’t find it..then after me i got to see your post..happy to read here everytime 🙂

    Alcina

    • I’m glad my words made you think, for they are a true observation. Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for such a kind compliment, to know that I am thought so well of is such a great blessing, you’re always gladly welcome here Alcina, and your comments are always an insightful joy to read.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. This is so honest and provocative. I love it! 🙂

  4. Very good points and written well. Good question!

  5. what a powerful piece,

    thanks for sharing,

  6. To be alive and awake … to appreciate the smallest gifts nature and life have to offer … that is the wealth when all is said and done!

    Nice approach!

    • Exactly, and most first world nations don’t have a clue how to appreciate the grand shows of nature, let alone the countless myriad of small gifts. Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your thought provoking words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  7. Now that’s a question that truly haunts the reader. I love it! (Oh and by the way, I’m from a 3rd world country. We are “alive with so little.”)

    • I’m glad my question haunts you, even if you are from a politically third world nation, hopefully that means it’ll open the eyes of anyone from a first world nation so they see that we shouldn’t go “Oh it’s such a shame there are third world countries, lets give some more to some charity or other and forget about them.” There’s far too much first world nations could learn from third world nations for that to be done. Glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  8. Ideally, what Tanzania offers would deferentially be my vacationland. With that said, I will drift between my world and yours in imaginings. Actuality takes precedence.

    Genebrother “brother”

  9. I love this. Life is meant to be enjoyed and to indulge in the world, in the earth. Dancing and singing and walking into nature are necessary. Well done.

  10. It’s definitely true indeed, a wonderful poem with ltos of food for thought. Thank you for sharing!

  11. I really like this piece… written well : )

  12. Powerful writing, I have asked myself this too, profound writing

  13. Ah Recluse, you are in my mind for I have asked the very same in a conversation with friends a mere two days ago. Trying explaining this to those so accustomed to having so much, how others can be so happy, so alive with true joie de vivre with seemingly so little.

    Your pen captures acutely and thoughtfully as always, my fellow wordsmith.

    • They say great minds think alike (they also say fools seldom differ, but we’ll not mention that). It is more often those who have less materially who have riches emotionally. Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  14. Yup! You got it. WARS, seem to drain our ability and resources to act…with responsibility.
    Why are we cursed with this aggresshun’? Are we predators?

    Thank you for stirring up my thoghts. Good job…good read.

    • It’s not just war I’m on about, it’s the apathy that western society breeds. Far too often we do see ourselves as predators. Glad you stir your thoughts. Thanks for your insightful comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  15. Your observations ring so true. In this society it is so easy to take things for granted. How so many of us are so busy wanting more that we never take the time to stop and just ‘be’.

    Very thought provoking and inspiring poetry, thanks for sharing 🙂

  16. right on! you expressed this perfectly, very well done! bravo!!

  17. wowowee! Totally love this! I’m from a third world country — but never felt we’re poor 😉

    • When I was in Tanzania I worked out that I was actually poorer than any of the Tanzanians I worked with in anything that mattered. Glad you enjoyed it, thank you for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  18. a provocative and honest response to the senselessness we are surrounded with in this country every day. Well done!

  19. “Vibrant people

    Dance on living earth…”

    Enjoyed the visuals and the raw prose. Thank you for sharing.

  20. Loved your sentiments. I would certainly agree with you.

    Thank you for sharing.

  21. Clear sighted honesty!

  22. right on the money! nice job

  23. So true. We really do have a lot to think about.

Leave a Reply

 
