The Elephant’s Fear

A faux fable for you today. I suppose I wrote it as a bit of a takeoff of Aesop’s fables, but with a few differences, for example I’m not overly sure of the moral.

.

The elephant was walking down to the river to drink. When he reached the river he saw a bobcat staring across the river. “Why do you stare so bobcat?” asked the elephant. “I need to cross this river, but I fear the waters, so dare not enter.” Was her reply. The elephant trumpeted in laughter at such a thing as a fear of water. “You fear to cross? The river is neither deep nor fast little bobcat, surely you can cross.”

“I cannot cross, though I must, surely you can understand fear, even though you are so great.”

“I fear nothing,” boasted the elephant “not even the lion, the king of animals, dares attack me. But if you can find me something I fear then I shall take you across.” So the bobcat went to find something the elephant feared. She travelled many hours and started to grow hungry. Suddenly a mouse ran past her. She pounced and caught the little mouse. She was about to pop the mouse in her mouth when it squeaked “don’t eat me or you’ll never find what the elephant fears, for I know it well.” The bobcat was sceptical, food generally tried to find a way to stop itself from being eaten, but she did need to cross the river. “Take me with you to see the elephant and you shall find his fear.” She had nothing to lose so did as the mouse suggested. When she reached the river the elephant was waiting for her. “So little bobcat have you found me a fear?” At this the mouse jumped out from its perch behind the cat’s head. The elephant stumbled back in terror at the sight of the little mouse. He turned tail and ran. “Oh great,” said the bobcat as she chewed on the mouse, “now I’ll never cross the river.”

Several hours later the elephant came back and, once he was sure the mouse had gone, gave the bobcat a lift across the river.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on July 23, 2011.

11 Responses to “The Elephant’s Fear”

  1. I believe that the moral of this story is that even the biggest, bravest people have fears. I liked it very much. I’ve always been fond of Aesop’s fables and this did not disappoint.

    • The moral is either something like that, or don’t trust bobcats if you are their prey :). I’m glad you enjoyed it, I love Aesop’s fables as well, that and the just so stories.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. very nice little fable…. maybe the moral is about not letting over-confidence set you up for a fall…as even the biggest of us can be brought down by the smallest of things….

    well done!

    • Glad you enjoyed it. Yes that is another possible facet to the moral of this story. The lack of one moral specified by me is not not seeing a moral at all, it’s seeing too many that all fit, though admittedly you have added a new one to the stew. Thank you for your insightful and kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. lovely story,

    enjoyed the strength in your story on the elephant.
    Happy Reading.

    🙂

  4. nicely written : )

  5. […] The Lonely Recluse. […]

  6. how divine you have been part of our short story slam challenger team.

    you have superb potential, keep the creative juice running,

    welcome join week 7 fun.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
