The Dance Of Death

The third (and probably final) poem that shares the same title in different languages. So far in Le Danse Macabre and Totentanz I more focused on the music, this time I chose the dance to focus on. A waltz is the basis of the structure of this poem, the one, two, three beat to be precise. I chose a waltz because that’s the dance I can imagine Death claiming, due to the stately grace and elegance of the waltz. And without further ado the poem.

.

One two three

Waltz with me

Dance with glee

.

Please don’t flee

Dance with glee

Waltz with me

.

Birth life death

But one breath

Come on Steph

.

Please don’t flee

Dance with glee

Waltz with me

.

Come what may

Life will fray

Cannot stay

.

Please don’t flee

Dance with glee

Waltz with me

.

Please don’t flee

Come and Waltz

The Dance of Death

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on July 30, 2011.

14 Responses to “The Dance Of Death”

  1. I enjoyed the rhythm of death as well as the fluid motions through the moments. One, two, three – ta ta ta – pa pa pa – one, two, three.
    🙂

    • It’s the rhythm of the waltz, a nice ONE, two, three beat, I always rate the waltz as the king of the ballroom dances, and it just seemed to fit Death in my opinion. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. I’ve enjoyed all three – and I agree with your choice of the Waltz and its tempo … well done!

    • I’m glad you’ve enjoyed all three, I’ve enjoyed writing them, even if I haven’t always been pleased with the results. Thanks for your kind words.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. I imagine a Tim Burton-esque skeleton dancing and saying these words. 😀 Cool poem.

  4. Yes, I can picture Death dancing a waltz too. There’s no escape–might as well dance when death appears! Well done, TLR.

  5. We might as well dance. I, too, love the waltz rhythm you set this to. It is very enjoyable to read.

    Here is my offering for this first Gooseberry Garden picnic: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/this-eden/

  6. I love the idea of using the waltz beat to craft the poem, so the form and function work together. The waltz beat in the English language is anapestic – two short syllables and a longer syllable; in this poem I see that sometimes, which is great. :o)

    • As a chemist with very little educational background in poetry I’ll admit that I hardly understand the technical bit of what you just said. So saying, I’m glad you enjoyed the idea, and thank you for the comment (what I could get out of it at least).
      The Lonely Recluse.

  7. That was really cool. : )

Leave a Reply

 
