Our Midnight Meet

I don’t really know where this came from. I jotted the first two lines down and left them for a few days. When I came to write it out I noticed the first stanza made sense either way round, so I decided to write a palindromic poem, and here it is.

.

Death comes on sombre feet

For this our midnight meet

You best pull up a seat

I doubt it shall be sweet

.

Your time is in the past

You weren’t built to last

It is all gone so fast

.

In time it all must cease

Our flesh is but on lease

.

Now we must say goodbye

.

Our flesh is but on lease

In time it all must cease

.

It is all gone so fast

You weren’t built to last

Your time is in the past

.

I doubt it shall be sweet

You best pull up a seat

For this our midnight meet

Death comes on sombre feet.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on August 24, 2011.

38 Responses to “Our Midnight Meet”

  1. I like it. The midnight meet though sound sombre, but it’s very apt and it makes one sit up and realise that time is precious and we need to make full use of it as everything is on loan…

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hadn’t actually noticed that it carried that message untill I read it again after reading your comment, so thank you for pointing that out, I just meant it as a sombre, slightly creepy poem. Thank you for your comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. I am reading it again and again.Don’t really know what kind of peaceful solace it brings to my heart..Awesome work as usual Lonely recluse..I am adoring every bit of it!

    • Wow, your compliments are far too great for my writing surely. I’m glad that this piece can bring peace and solace to you, even though it wasn’t composed to do such.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. A moody piece. Dark and dangerous feel to it.

    Here’s one I posted on another site today: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/dearest-wife/

  4. Interesting how your poem came about … occasionally those lines appear … and before you know it a message surfaces. This is a dark and somber poem, but it also relays the importance of the time we have, and make wise use of it while we are here. Thank you for sharing ~~ 🙂

  5. I like the way your rearrange the first and last verses, and the rhyming words.

    Brisk pace and darkness coming with death.. I like it.

    Nice to meet you~

    • It’s not just the first and last stanzas, it’s the whole poem, it reads the same forwards and backwards. Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you enjoyed it, and it’s a pleasure to meet you too.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. Cool. Palindromic poem = great idea!

  7. I like this overall, but I am wondering if maybe you don’t need the repetition. The phrases are so stark in and of themselves, you might do better with just giving them once and maybe adding a different stanza to tie things together? But I love your particular brand of darkness. :o)

    • There is no real repetition, I only showed the mirror image so I didn’t have to tell people to read it both ways. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, and my darkness. Thanks for the comment.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  8. thought provoking…

    have fun!
    🙂

  9. You have a way with words..but somewhere I did wish the stress on rhyming was less…if it does it does..if it doesn’t hey..it’s still a song of the heart 🙂

  10. “Death comes on sombre feet” – I like that line very much.

  11. Very well done. It was a pleasure reading it.

  12. Excellent Poetry ..
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  13. Lovely dark poem. The reality of your words chill. Well done.

    Melanie

  14. Interesting poem. A bit disturbing but I guess death is always a bit disturbing. I really liked it. Thanks

    • You only need be disturbed by death if you fear it, I find death rather reassuring, it’s the one thing that links every single one of us, no matter who we are we are equal in death, Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  15. Nice, I really liked this one. 😀 Good Job.

    http://ankokuhikaru.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/poetry-rose-masquerade/

  16. Our flesh is but on lease

    In time it all must cease (i love this part)

    ..though how much people try to preserve their bodies, it won’t be of good use if they die…
    Nicely written.

    • Most the time it’s better to age with dignity rather than try to hide it, there’s more grace about a person of 80 when they have let themselves age naturally rather than wearing a ton of polyfiller and dying their hair brown. Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for commenting.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  17. A poignant write. Thank you!

  18. A very surreal write – great flow and intone to the piece!

  19. perfect Job.

    Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have won the perfect poet award for week 58,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rallyby Friday if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

 
