Just Another Pretender

I don’t know whether this poem is me shouting at myself or someone else, I suppose it fits
both just as well, we all put masks on for the world, pretend we’re someone
else. I just wish that wasn’t the case, both in myself and in others. A
thousand thanks go to Shoeless Boy Wonder (http://shoelessboywonder.wordpress.com/
) for help in penning this piece, most the words of the second half of the
second stanza are his.

 

Think you’re the big defender

You’re just another pretender

Trying to hide your face

Thinking you’re a disgrace

I am the same as you

Your lie I can see through

So drop the charade, be yourself

It’s far better for your health.

.

Think you’re the big defender

You’re just another pretender

Trying to hide your face

Thinking you’re a disgrace

But we both pay the same fee

Now only if this you could see

The difference between you and I

Is nothing but a fragment of a lie.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on October 5, 2011.

8 Responses to “Just Another Pretender”

  1. Love this!

  2. I enjoyed it tremendously. We all are pretender s at times. As much as we refuse to admit it. Some times forced by circumstances, sometimes by choice. Good portrayal!

  3. This feels like a song when i read it like olden times with soft music played behind and a maiden in a dress sitting over the piano singing it in a opera tone.. 😛 Am i being weird in this thought? 😛

    Completely describes the title..Nice write!

  4. This is a really pretty poem. It actually vaguely reminds me of something I’ve written but more eloquent and less angsty. Definitely one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

 
