Scarlet Blood in a grey world

I know it’s out of my usual pattern, but I thought you deserved a poem after then number I missed, hopefully usual service will have been sorted by wednesday. Thought I’d try a totally different style here, I’m hoping the breaks emphasise the words I want emphasis on, but I don’t know. It is a poem written to all my friends who cut themselves, this poem is for you. Don’t just go “He doesn’t mean it for me, it’s for someone else, someone he knows better than me.” Because that isn’t true, this is for you, it’s for each and every person who reads it.

.

Scarlet blood in a grey world

you cut yourself to

feel

then stop feel

me

please you mean too much to just

cut

your life away

let my

voice

be an anchor

my compassion a

compass

if you want

blood

have mine its free for

you

just please keep yours in you

you are far too

precious

to waste it

no

I don’t “understand” you

no one understands anyone

but I do

empathise

so please stop

cutting

start feeling

I am here I

ALWAYS

will be here

waiting

for you to let me in

please just say

help

so I can.

.

Hope you enjoy please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on October 25, 2011.

10 Responses to “Scarlet Blood in a grey world”

  1. playful and creative words, well done.

    🙂

  2. First, I will never read your poetry before going to bed. I dreamed extensively about this poem last night. First I dreamed that you actually said who you wrote it for (four people that you know in real life and I think one online) and then I dreamed that you edited it and I was commenting that I liked it better the original way. When I woke up I had no idea what was real and if you had even wrote it or not. But you did and I’m glad so now I shall tell you what I think.

    I really like how the breaks empathize the words you really mean. It helps to add more power and meaning. I love the theme was well. Everyone needs to know that they are loved. Truly. Always. Forever. Especially when they are hurting as one must hurt to hurt themselves. I also really love the similes, I thought they helped it flow beautifully. As always, a wonderful poem.

    • *emphasise. Sorry, wrong word there. Changed the whole meaning of my post.

      • That is a bit wierd, interesting but wierd. Yes I did write it :).
        I’m glad the emphasis worked, I wasn’t overly sure when I wrote it. Yes everyone does need to feel loved, and I often seem drawn to people in these sorts of situations, so I often get frustrated that they know that I’d do whatever I can for them, if they just let me. But of course, they wont, hence the last lines.
        The Lonely Recluse.

  3. I feel the emphasis on the words. First time I have seen it applied in poetry. I have heard it sung in lyrics – singing more specifically when there are breaks to emphasis the importance. Thanks for positioning poetry in a different light 🙂

    • I needed a way to get the emphasis across, like in songs, I’ve seen similar but I just took it a tad futher than usual, I doubt I’m the first though. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  4. love the colors in your lines, they do impact the imagery.

    beautiful entry.

  5. […] any other way. It’s a bit of a continuation of “Scarlet Blood In A Grey World” ( https://lonelyrecluse.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/scarlet-blood-in-a-grey-world/ ) hence the reference. It’s pretty self explanitory, so I’ll let it do the […]

Leave a Reply

 
