Carpe Diem et Carpe Noctem.

A pair of poems today, Carpe Diem et Carpe Noctem (Seize The Day and Seize The Night), They are meant as sister poems, showing my view on the day and the night, probably formed due to insomnia (as with much of my poetry).

.

Carpe Diem – Seize The Day

.

Enter the fray

Seize the day

Chase after life

Run through strife

.

Carpe Noctem – Seize The Night

.

Don’t enter the fight

Just slowly seize the night

Others can run round

Less speed, less haste that’s sound.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on November 16, 2011.

28 Responses to “Carpe Diem et Carpe Noctem.”

  1. Enjoyed the pair of poems. Especially Seize the day.
    Havent had any thoughts about seizing the night, maybe because I am usually asleep with low energy then. Interestingly, I found the idea of others running around with less speed and haste quite fasinating. Could I get some thoughts about your feeling about the night?

    • I’m glad you enjoyed them. As to my views of the night, you probably already know I’m an insomniac, so that probably influences my view of the night a lot, but I love the night, it always feels more laid back than the day, like you can do as much work without having done so much work, if you see what I mean. Also, I’m not much of a people person, so I enjoy the night because there are less people around as well.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. Hi – I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog, and I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award: http://caridwen.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/im-an-award-winning-blogger-and-no-one-is-more-surprised-than-i-am/ Thanks for putting out such a great read!

  3. nice , less haste is always sound..http://bupinder21.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/i/

  4. profound word flow.

    wow.

    🙂

  5. Nice rhyme in short terse bursts. I liked reading your poem just that way.

    • I thought the shortness would work better than writing long stanzas for each, especially with Carpe Diem, trying to get the rush of the day across. I’m glad that you enjoyed the way it turned out.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  6. not only did I enjoy, I liked it.
    two complimentary pieces that belong together…bookends to a day.
    one feels the rush & strife of day, then the fatigue & caution of night.
    before I retired, I seized the day, then seized up at night. LOL.

    good job here.

    • That is actually a slightly different perspective than I had, I had Carpe Noctem being more the idea that the night is laid back and calm, but can still be seized, just in a different way, but the interpretation you gave probably fits most peoples views better than my interpretation (showing one of the things I love the most about poetry, interpretation). Glad you enjoyed it, loved the joke.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  7. Loved them both, great views on opposite worlds.

  8. really great work right here

  9. Carpe Diem is one of my favourite quotes. love the line “run through strife”.

  10. Can definitely relate to less speed, less haste. Could it be because I’m middle aged?:)

    Cool write.

    http://adura-ojo.blogspot.com/2011/11/c-in-catwalk.html

  11. Nice work…seize the day and seize the night….the light of life….seizing day in our youth…..and seizing the night of our peace as we mature

  12. I love the shorter forms and your work does them justice here–thank you!

  13. I enjoyed your two views … and having a choice.

  14. Short, crisp and meaningful. Words for my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
