Another Sleepless Night.

Although this narrative isn’t about me, it was written on a night that insomnia had really hit me quite hard. The backstory is totally up to you to think – it would be great if you decided to post your view of it in the comments. In fact I challenge you to come up with a backstory and leave it as a comment, there are no rules to the challenge – the writing can be anyformat you want, as long as the idea could lead into this at some point or other.

.

Water drips from the ceiling.

She’s left the tap on again.

I get up off the futon, it’s not like I’d been sleeping, just trying, and failing.

As ever.

She always seems to leave the tap on if I stay on the futon, I don’t know why, but she does.

I open the door and start climbing up stairs, not bothering turning the lights on – I know the way.

I open the bathroom door and, sure enough, the tap is running and the bath is overflowing.

Another sleepless night.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment (especially your view of a backstory).

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on November 19, 2011.

8 Responses to “Another Sleepless Night.”

  1. Hmmm… Who is “she”? Who is “I”, for that matter? Obviously “she” doesn’t like “I” sleeping on the futon, for whatever reason. I suppose that’s up to me to decide, huh? “I”‘s familiar with the house. This requires thought… I like the style of writing, though there isn’t much background (as you have said). I’ll think more about it.

    • Who “she” and “I” are is up to you, though I imagined “I” as male, but that is probably because I am. I might write a background to it at some point, but I don’t know. Feel free to write your view on a back story, the whole idea was to get people to think, to make the narrative so vague that it could have infinite views on what is happening.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • Yes, I felt “I” as male as well. You wanted people to think and you got me, which is almost as good. I hope. And there are infinite views, as you said.
        She doesn’t like him staying on the futon. If this was for a sympathetic reason, she wouldn’t be leaving on the tap to annoy him. So there’s some sort of bad blood between them, but he doesn’t know what it is. He’s had a lot of sleepless nights, obviously… Either she thinks the futon won’t give him a comfortable sleep and, in a sort of twisted reasoning, decides to make him sleep less to get him to sleep more, which doesn’t make sense even to me; or else he is a husband who has recently drawn apart from his wife, and she wants him back and leaves on the tap accordingly. These are my two views on the story. They aren’t very clear, are they?

        • It’s the difference between person and people isn’t it? You’re views are clear, and fairly close to the idea I had brewing for a prequel, but I’ll keep that to myself for now :).
          The Lonely Recluse.

  2. I can’t believe we had the same argument again. She thinks of my writing as nothing but a hobby that takes up too much of my time. I can’t convince her I have plans to one day publish my verses. If there isn’t a definite timeline, she feels I am wasting my time.

    Without another word I leave the bedroom and head downstairs to the library. Maybe there is something in me I can write out. I open my laptop to make an attempt, but nothing is making sense. I can’t get past the word “hobby” playing in my head.

    Restless with insomnia drilling in my brain I wander from window to window watching the moon makes its way across the sky. Exhausted I feel I should try to sleep. I go back to the library to lie down on that old futon in the corner.

    What is that? I look up to feel drops falling from the ceiling. She’s left the tap on again! I don’t know why she leaves the water running when I am on the futon. Perhaps it is just punctuation to her feelings about my writing.

    I have no other choice but to get up. it’s not like I had been sleeping. i open the door and start climbing stairs, not bothering to turn on lights. I know the way. I reach the bathroom to find the tap running and the bathtub overflowing onto the floor.

    Another sleepless night

    (This is my attempt )

    • It’s a good story, it fits, it’s well written, I enjoyed it. I like how you modified my bit, adding in the extra line to have it fit your style, well done for taking the initiative.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. Sigh. If I only could tell you how many sleepless nights I have had.

Leave a Reply

 
