Love

Believe it or not I don’t like Valentine’s Day, not because I don’t have a girlfriend to share it with (though that does probably have some part to it), but because it shows love as such nonsense, as if love was all roses and chocolates, as if we can buy love with cheap presents. Love in my vocabulary is much stronger than the rubbish that consumerist Valentine’s Day tries to peddle, hence the scathing tone at the end of the poem.

.

You say you want my love

I offer you my heart

I’ll take it out my chest

And offer it to you

.

Still Beating

.

You ask me for a rose

I offer you my blood

Inside my beating heart

I offer you my heart

.

Still bleeding

.

You demand chocolates

I offer you my life

Wrapped in my warm blood

I offer you my blood

.

Still pumping

.

You say you want my love

You ask me for a rose

You demand chocolates

To see my affection

.

What a joke

.

I offer you my heart

I offer you my blood

I offer you my life

Yet you are disgusted

.

What a joke

.

You don’t understand love

It isn’t shown with a rose

Nor bought with chocolate

None of these things show love

.

You blind fool

.

Love is given with heart

Love is shown with spilt blood

Love is bought with a life

That is love worth having

.

Sacrifice is Love

.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on February 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
