hush now my little child.

As I’ve been struggling with inspiration for poetry of late I decided to look for a prompt on the internet, what I found was “write a poem in the style of a lullaby” – well it may not be a perfect lullaby, it’s much nicer than the grim affair I was expecting from it.

.

Hush now my little child

Be not so loud and wild

Fall to sleep so gently

Don’t think so intently

.

Be still now tender one

Sleep now till light of sun

Still now, don’t toss and turn

Don’t cause any concern

.

Stay now my wee munchkin

Doze off with a sweet grin

Let no bad thought disturb

Let your sleep be superb

.

Go to sleep now young squib

All rug’d up in your crib

As my rhyme comes to end

To dreams your thoughts should bend

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on April 19, 2012.

10 Responses to “hush now my little child.”

  1. Aw, that’s probably the sweetest poem I’ve ever read of yours 🙂 I just might sing it to my Baby Sister.

    • It’s probably the sweetest poem I’ve written (unless you go in for the romantic stuff in “To One Unknown”), I was intending it to turn dark, but I kept thinking of my nephew and nieces so I couldn’t change it, especially after the last two stanzas, munchkin is what I call my nephew and nieces, and squibs is what my Grandma called me. You’ll have to record it, I’d love to see what melody you’d put it to.
      The Lonely Recluse

  2. Oh my, this really is a lullaby. So sweet and lovely. I can imagine many a mother singing this softly to their child. Nicely done Recluse..

    • I’ll leave a musician to put it to song then, that is one thing I certainly am not. I’m glad you enjoyed it – sweet and lovely are such alien territory for me :).
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. It charms me 🙂
    A very beautiful piece..
    P.S.-I am starting to write in wordpress..very new 😛 and i made the first comment on your blog through it.Have not been able to follow up your posts lately.Hope your doing fine!
    tc!

  4. As my rhyme comes to end

    To dreams your thoughts should bend

    I loved the idea behind those lines. Something new for me as I have never thought of going to sleep as bending the thoughts towards it. Interesting!
    Glad to you have you back again and great piece you have crafted for this new theme! 🙂

    • I think I only think of bending thoughts to sleep because I have insomnia so have to do exactly that. Thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed the poem.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
