You Talk Of Love.

I can’t even remember what the inspiration for this was, it was either reading someone’s poem, or talking to someone, and I think it was about their ex, and I was just sat there thinking “They don’t even deserve the title man, why did it take so long for you to break up?” obviously I didn’t say that, but oh well, enjoy.

.

You talk of love

When all you know is lust

You talk of love

Your every word is dust

.

Yet they fall for you

As you trample on them

Yet they fall for you

Their pains fatal stem

.

You talk of giving

When all you do is take

You talk of giving

As you drown them in a lake

.

Yet they fall for you

As you trample on them

Yet they fall for you

Their pains fatal stem

.

You are a locust

Feeding on their pain

You are a locust

Bathing in their shame

.

Yet they fall for you

As you trample on them

Yet they fall for you

Their pains fatal stem

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on May 4, 2012.

10 Responses to “You Talk Of Love.”

  1. This poem tastes good. I’m sorry that is a really weird way to describe it but that is a really good compliment. I really like how the emotion is not hugely blunt but kind of tinges the edges of the words.

  2. It’s a universal talk..some think they know what they have is love some doubt it and some forget to cherish it.
    Your poem has lots of words between the lines.And i can completely understand your starting lines of this very post.
    Someday back i wrote this as my status :Problem with religion,caste,color,weight,height,qualification etc etc..As if your spouse(or going to be husband/wife) is a piece of furniture and love is a quantitative feeling which is bought from a shop with a shelf-life.
    And really how do people distinguish love from lust.A very difficult but a very thin line between both.

    • Indeed, I think though that this was written in reaction to someone who backstabbed their partner.
      Yeah, I was half tempted to write lines about how the good guy is ignored, but I thought it better to let the absence speak.
      I generally stick with the Ancient Greek view with four words for love, family, friend, romance and sacrifice. I agree there is often little difference between purely romantic love and lust.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. Ow! This bites and justifiably so. I have a friend going through this right know and this is pretty much what I said to him about his ex. Though I’m feeling this was also about about a female who hurt a male, I like that the write itself is gender neutral. There’s so much to said in all that you did not say here, and I like that most about it. Excellent as always, Recluse.

    • It was actually a reaction to what a female said about her ex-boyfriend but it is true in any situation, hence the gender neutrality. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  4. I love this. Definitely has some of the quirk I find in many of the lyrics I find myself think about. Thanks, this was refreshing.

  5. It’s an interesting piece you have there. I guess it’s always hard to face the hard truth after giving. The repetition and the rhyming bit frames the strength of the admonition. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

 
