Shamble Man

I’ve been writing Faerie tales for a friend to use in her writing recently, and I wrote this poem to go along with one of the tales, I may post the tale up at some point, I don’t know. But I hope you enjoy the poem.

Shamble Man

From the dark nameless Land

Shamble Man

Evil’s left hand

.

Shamble Man

A bag of skin and bone

Shamble Man

A grip of stone

.

Shamble Man

Bane of the Fae

Shamble Man

You cannot run away

.

Shamble Man

Comes out only at night

Shamble Man

Dark foe of Light

.

Shamble Man

Music’s taste he does lust

Shamble Man

Sate it he must

.

Shamble Man

Feasting upon magic

Shamble Man

Your end, tragic

.

Shamble Man

When you see his eyes red

Shamble Man

Soon you’ll be dead

.

Shamble Man

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on May 29, 2012.

19 Responses to “Shamble Man”

  1. Lonely Recluse, I really liked this poem. And you mentioned you doing fairytale writing for another friend. I’m working on something for my blog involving fairytales, maybe you’d like to help? Shoot me an email please or comment on my blog somewhere. Thanks, eshy.

    • Glad you enjoyed the poem. sent you an email, sorry about editing your actual comment, but I thought it’d be a favour to delete your email out, stop you from getting more junk mail.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. Hey for the book I’m making as the prize for the scavenger hunt what do you want your author’s name to be? The cover I can’t change so you’ll be The Lonely Recluse but inside the book what would you like to be called? And do you want a copy of the book?

  3. I like the repetition in this piece – it creates a whole sort of chanting feel. Like a mass of audience chanting out a spell against evil, willing it to go away. Was that the idea behind it?

    • It was written for either a spell against evil, or the creation of The Shamble Man, I’m not too sure which, its only mentioned briefly in the story its used in.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  4. *hides from Shamby long enough to say* You’ve been nominated for a blog award!
    http://www.cupsandmuses.com/2012/06/quit-blaming-your-muse-listen-to-his.html

  5. interesting, very dark and loved the rhythm… almost felt satirical, like a child’s simplicity with the repetition, but with the depth of a horror story.

  6. Love it, though some of the rhyming lines were a bit irregular in syllables… Is this already a traditional Faerie tale, or is it your own invention? If the latter, it’s very good.

    • As far as I can tell its my own invention, although I always feel like I didn’t create Shamble Man, that he’s been around before my writings. Yeah, my rhymes aren’t always the best, even if most my poetry does rhyme anyway.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • The concept of the Shamble Man is pretty cool. And just so you know, I shouldn’t be critiquing poetry anyway since I can’t write it to save my life.

        • Cheers. I can’t draw to save my life, I still know what art I like, of course you can critique poetry even if you don’t think you can write it (try some time, its great and easier than it looks).
          The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
