The Green Man.

If you don’t know what a green man is, at its most simple, they’re the faces that are either coated or surrounded in leaves, or other vegetation. You’d probably be better looking it up than taking my definition, but oh well. There are a great many pubs called the green man (at least there is in England). The story behind it is totally my own, I don’t think I’ve copied any mythology (for once), so don’t think they’re all evil, or whatever you want to call my one.
.

The Green Man
Smiles down
From a sign
Above the pub
His smile
Is smug
And sly
Full of knowing
Not to speak
Just to watch
As you fall
As he once did
The Green Man
Hanging there
Just watching
As history repeats
With his smile
Eternally painted
On his green face
The Green Man
Such a happy man
Or is he?
.
Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.
The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on July 24, 2012.

6 Responses to “The Green Man.”

  1. Schadenfreude – that is almost always what I think when I see the smile of a green man. As though he is enjoying some private joke at our expense. I like this telling.

  2. I like it – it’s like a coated front with something behind the smile which we ponder about. Strangely I just wrote something about the Green Man too – but in a totally different context 😉

Leave a Reply

 
