Why Keep Books

I’m a book lover, unsurprisingly, and I thought I’d write a poem for those who don’t understand why I love books so much, why I never get rid of them, also why I will not buy an e-reader, no matter what anyone says they aren’t the same, and to be honest I’m not bothered if they’re more practical for things like holidays, I’m still sticking to books.
.

The whisper of pages
If the whisper of friends
The touch of paper
A lover’s caress
The smell of age
The sweetest perfume
The vibrant dustjacket
Is the most beautiful dress
All mix to the greatest taste
That is why I keep the book
.
Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.
The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on August 21, 2012.

4 Responses to “Why Keep Books”

  1. i would certainly not want technology to invade into the tranquil world of books..what is the charm of books if you cant listen to the rustle of the pages, smell their faint musk and dog-ear them? i prefer my book in my hands rather on a computer screen..great post..great poem..keep writing

  2. I like to keep books too. The smell, and sound of the pages turning – it’s much more solid than reading on a screen. Loved it!

    • It is without a doubt the smell of books that makes them so much better than e-books, that and just the whole sensory experience of holding a book. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
