In The Morning Glad I See.

I had a prompt to take the last line from a famous poem and use it as the start of my own poem, I decided to use William Blake’s “A Poison Tree” because it was the easiest Blake ending to use (Blake happens to be my favourite famous poet. Hopefully I’ve lived up to his high standard (I haven’t, but oh well)
.

In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretched beneath the tree
It was I that lay him there
On the ground so cold and bare
.
For he stole my apple bright
Coming each and ev’ry night
And I thought it was not just
That for my apple he did lust
.
So I lay down a trail
To end his life so weak and frail
When he next stole back to take
The apple, it was but a fake
.
The poison was strong and fast
His heartbeat it did not long last
In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretched beneath the tree
.
Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.
The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on August 27, 2012.

5 Responses to “In The Morning Glad I See.”

  1. Oh my! I LOVED this one! It was good. Or I thought so. You probably won’t believe me, you never do, but it was amazing(:

    • Glad you liked it. Tell me, how many poets, writers, artists, etc, do you know who do like their own work, no matter how good it may actually be. The main problem I have with this is I’m using words from one of my favourite poems, by my favourite poet, I’m obviously going to compare it to the original. But to be fair, it’s one of my poems I’m fond of.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • True. We, ourselves, are our toughest critics. Which isn’t completely bad. But good, I’m glad you are fond enough of this one, it deserves it(: anywho, keep it up and try not to compare TOO much.

  2. I love the recount of the story – how it works backward and eventually came to the ending. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

 
