Come With Me To The Tree.

I probably shouldn’t write poetry late at night.

.

Come with me to the tree

Decorated in blood

Come with me tonight

With just stars as guards

Come with me to the tree

With living baubles

Watch their merry dance

With the hidden lead.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on January 11, 2013.

5 Responses to “Come With Me To The Tree.”

  1. Feels a little creepy..What’s the tree dance about?

    • I originally wrote it meaning the gallows dance, i.e. the jerkins of the body as a person is hung, the lead being Death. But in all honesty it’s for you to decide what the dance is, as I often say, the true beauty of poetry is in interpretation.
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • I was at this art exhibition yesterday and I thought to share this with you if you might be interested. Death-a self portrait at the Wellcome collection near Euston tube station. If you get a chance to come down to London before 24 Feb, do make a visit. The pieces I saw reminded me of the many proses you wrote – especially about the Dance of Death.

  2. Because of the Western culture (like literally Western not just… Western. yeah) I grew up with and all the cowboy movies and stuff I imagined a literal hanging tree because that is just as common as gallows in those old movies. It actually looked cooler in my head that way.

Leave a Reply

 
