Ashen Sweet Taste

I was eating a Terry’s Chocolate Orange that I got for Christmas, then I started to think of my Grandma, she used to be the one that got the chocolate oranges, and the taste in my mouth just turned ashen.

.

The sweet taste

Turns to ash

As I think

Of twenty years

Of memories past

And wish that

I could have

Them all back

And stop time

As it was

Those years ago

With ev’ryone back

And the happiness

And the innocence

That childhood holds

Just fanciful thought

I have aged

The innocence gone

As have they

Here I am

The sweet taste

Turned to ash

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on February 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
