SIAD

For those of you who don’t know today (March 1st) is Self Injury Awareness Day (SIAD),  so I thought I’d share a couple of bits, one by me, one by another, neither of which you need to take as being about self harm, one of which isn’t even written about self harm, but still fits.

The first one is a poem by me, about me. It’s in response to all the times I’m asked “are you ok, and I want to scream NO. But that ain’t going to happen, I’m fine, king of ok. Guy’s don’t self harm, guys don’t cry, or struggle. Nonsense. So without further ado “I am not OK”

.

I’m not ok, I’m not alright

That lie won’t to cut it tonight

Do you not know, do you not see

This really cannot be me

Is it not plain, is it not clear

That things are not as they appear

I am not ok, I am not alright

Those lies are not what will cut me tonight.

.

The second poem is actually about bullying, and yeah I know there’s a day for that too, but personally I think it fits as well today, as whenever the bullying awareness day is. “To This Day” by Shane Koyczan. (Sorry, you’ll have to click through to youtube, it is worth it though)

.

To This Day

.

So yeah, happy SIAD (if you can call such a day happy).

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on March 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
