How I Miss You

This was written when I was eating a type of sweet that my Nan used to buy me when she was alive.

.

How can I eat this

When it just reminds me of you

And all the times you spoilt me

With love and affection

And sweets

Of course

Now I taste them

And think of you

And come near tears

As near as I can

And the taste just turns

Becomes a strange mixture

Love and regret

Ash and sugar

How can I keep eating

These sweets I once loved

When you bought me them

And spoilt me so much

Now you are gone

There are no more sweets

No more spoiling

No more kisses to keep you alive

They failed

Maybe it was because I grew up

And stopped visiting

Stopped giving you those kisses

That you swore you lived on

But now you’re gone

As are the kisses

And the spoiling

And the sweets

And the taste of those I bought

For me

In memory of you

But I can’t eat them

Because you’re not here

And you didn’t buy them for me

How I miss you.

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on April 16, 2013.

2 Responses to “How I Miss You”

  1. Full of emotions especially love. I could feel your heart missing your Nan. Lovely tribute.

Leave a Reply

 
