Sticks and Stones

May break my bones, but words will never hurt me. What a load of nonsense that rhyme is, this one is a bit more true

.

Sticks and stones MAY break my bones

But words will always hurt me

Who are you trying to fool

With your bullshit rhyme

Of course words hurt

Tear souls apart

While you sit safe

Blind to the agony

Caused by a few little words

Yeah I’m not broken

Physically

But my blood shed

Is on your hands

On your tongue

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on April 27, 2013.

4 Responses to “Sticks and Stones”

  1. This really hit home for me, as someone who has grown from high school in more ways than one. Anyone who has been bullied, called names, made to feel less than…This blog is for you. Great job!!! I am enjoying your amazing poetry!

  2. I know exactly how you feel. All these poems have a bit of me in them. This poem strikes at the heart of a bruised ego that has never actually gained full flight, forever being beaten by others or myself out of self loathing. Words can kill. I know. Well done my friend.

    • Very few people recognise the power of words. I suppose it’s both a joy and a curse to know their power, especially as a writer. It is an unhappy pleasure that you find yourself in these poems, they were written at such a dark time. Stand strong my friend, you will win through (Trust me, I managed it).
      The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a Reply

 
