As I look from high

An odd poem for you, one I don’t fully understand yet for some reason  I am actually quite partial to it for once.

As I look from high

What is it I spy

The silvery Birch

Climbs out of its perch

With Willow weeping

Down river sweeping

To the mighty Oak

His will to evoke.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

P.S.

Thanks to those who voted for me. Thanks to those that read.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on March 2, 2011.

32 Responses to “As I look from high”

  1. I did enjoy it and can see why you are partial to this charming poem. It has a very positive, joyful feel about it.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. Now that you mention it I do actually see what you mean about the positive feel to it, there must have been something amiss with me when I wrote it, everything else is so morbid :).
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. I really like your poetry! Very much! 🙂

  3. Odd how this makes me feel good!
    His will to evoke… 🙂

  4. nice! my wk 39 is here.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/regret/

  5. I’m a tree hugger, so I enjoyed this very much.

  6. Three of my favourite trees. I love the idea of a weeping willow sweping down river as the low branches often drift with the current.

  7. lovely sentiments,
    thanks for displaying the award…
    🙂

    • Thank you Jingle. Thanks to you for setting the awards up, without the publicity of your blog I doubt I’d have carried on blogging as long as I have.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  8. A simply catching little piece. Well done.

  9. wonderful, LR.. even I think it deserves some partiality 🙂 inspiring rhyme, this..!

  10. As someone who watches trees, myself, I found this very enjoyable. 🙂 Glad you chose to pay tribute to them with this delightful piece!

  11. wow its one of those poems you read and its so perfict theres not much you can say about it

  12. I enjoyed readin this.. Lovely one..

  13. So simple, so pretty, so silver and brown. I loved it 🙂 Gave me chills.

  14. Wonderful, lyrical poem that gave me many beautiful images as I read it 🙂

  15. Perhaps the morbid bit could have been the two lines in between your poem. But the beginning four lines and the last two lines symbolises hope and the willingness to fight. Despite all odds.

    Great work!

    • I always took those lines as in The weeping willow, rather than the willow is actually crying, but poetry is there to be interpreted. Glad you enjoyed it, hope you don’t mind me asking, but what bought you this far back in my poetry?
      The Lonely Recluse.

      • Yes, I kind of see where you are coming from but I thought it as more of an action when put in that manner.

        I think you may have posted it on the Hyde Park Poetry for week 70? I have been reading the other entries recently too. Else it must have been from the subscriber emails I am clearing 🙂 I subscribe to your blog and usually I take some time to get to read them proper.

        • Fair enough. To be honest I’ve never really understood this poem, so interpretation is even more important here than when I have a clear set view of what I mean, which seems infinitely important to me, with my view of poetry.
          If week 70 was a recent week then I highly doubt it, I did enter it into Jingle’s poetry rally, but we’re talking back in 2011. That’s why I was a bit confused about new comments popping up, someone else commented recently.
          The Lonely Recluse.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.