The Mansion In My Mind

Right I suppose I best explain a bit about this one, I think quite visually, so I decided to create a place for my thoughts, to make it easier to remove myself from those I don’t want to think about. I decided to build a house, for there is a door and thick walls keeping what you don’t want in out. Anyway read on, you might understand me a bit better through verse

.

The mansion in my mind

Has many doors to hide behind

In there time it does bend

So many hours there I spend

.

I go there in my rage

To keep my face a clear blank page

I’ll stay there till I calm

This mansion is my soothing balm

.

When I’m sad there I go

So that the tears I do not show

There I stay safe and snug

My great manse is a cheering hug

.

I stop there when I think

I go without food, sleep or drink

I shall not move or start

Till confusion’s mists I do part

.

The manse is where I stay

Through the dragging hours of the day

It is there I am found

If I don’t react to your sound

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on August 20, 2011.

6 Responses to “The Mansion In My Mind”

  1. I enjoyed it. I think I may have a similar feel as well, hiding away – not just a physical location but a mental one. Everyone of us has a self haven, it’s a matter of if we make full use of it.

    • Everyone hides away at some point, though not everyone has an exact idea of where they hide, and not many are willing to admit that they do it. Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  2. These poem seemed like you were doing a soul search every time something you felt was not good with you.And its the best place on the earth.

    Subtle scribble!

    • I originally tried to balence it to show that I generally hid away, happy or sad, but the smile verse really didn’t work out and it stayed like this. It’s more hiding away than soul searching if I’m being honest. Loved the “subtle scribble” bought a smile to my eye. Thank you for your thoughtful comment, I’m glad you enjoyed the poem.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. The mind could be our most valuable mansion. This is interesting — I own one myself 😉

Leave a Reply

 
