Internet Conversations.

I;m going to be catching up on posting the few bits and pieces I’ve written since I stopped blogging, so I probably won’t remember the original stories behind them. But as ever with poetry (or prose for that matter), why I wrote it isn’t the point, interpretation is everything.
So it is with this piece, it was typed up over a year ago, so I really can’t remember.
.
“I’m fine” he typed with a tear in his eye
Every character nothing but a lie
Laughter and joy painted on a screen
Kept alive with booze and caffeine
Coherent conversation, up all night
Without a word of his mental fight
This is the great pretender at work
His smile actually a grimaced smirk
Not that this is a rebuke at you
It’s just a stroll into his mind’s view
.
Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.
TLR

~ by The Lonely Recluse on November 4, 2014.

4 Responses to “Internet Conversations.”

  1. Welcome back! Hope you had a good break.
    I enjoyed this piece alot. The words fell off my tongue as I recite it and images build up naturally in my mind.

    Looking forward to more of your pieces:)

  2. Great poem! I think what matters most in the end is having written, and captured an emotion, whatever the reason for it.

    • Thank you. I’ve always loved that poetry is totally open for interpretation (no matter what english teachers think) and that, as often as not, there isn’t need for the story behind the poem to be told. I just put my 2 pence in to make it longer than 50 words =P.
      TLR.

Leave a Reply

 
