Tempus Fugit

Yet another strange poem that I can’t really explain in full.

.

Sed fugit interea fugit irreparabile tempus, singula dum capti circumvectamur amore

“But meanwhile it flies: time flies irretrievably, while we wander around, prisoners of our love of detail.”

. 

Forever time Flies

Flies never to return

Return to its prize

Prize of great concern

Concern for the missed

Missed by someone’s love

Love that shall persist

Persist from above

Above mortal strife

Strife that can sever

Sever the short life

Life lasts forever

.

Hope you enjoy, please feel free to comment.

The Lonely Recluse.

~ by The Lonely Recluse on March 23, 2011.

39 Responses to “Tempus Fugit”

  1. I really like this, TLR,–an excellent job! Time does fly and is always in the past.

    This is very clever the way you used the last word of each line to begin the next–don’t think I’ve seen that before.

  2. life lasts forever?

    lovely work, thanks for sharing..

    • It depends on how you look at life – if you see it as mortal life then no it doesn’t. But if you count the soul as life then yes. I also ment it in a life is cyclic sense (as tie in by my poem starting and ending on forever). Glad you enjoyed it.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  3. life lasts forever, hmmm i like it. it flows so nice and makes you think. 🙂

  4. Great meaning to your poem. Time is one directional, what is done is done you cannot turn back time.
    Is there a greater power involved?
    I love this poem because the more I think about it, the more I get deeper meaning from it:)

  5. Loved the rhythm and depth of this piece – you simply have to read it over….

  6. I love the form you used here, and how it forms a circle. It really adds to the poem’s theme! Great stuff!

  7. nice wordplay, interesting philospohies. a thinking person’s poem…

  8. A very deep piece and surely lots to be deciphered in there..And with the words that you have described the things are just brilliant.

    Alcina-Your breathe

  9. Loved the way you’ve written this. Intense and so rhythmic. Keep writing!!! 🙂

  10. This was lovely, a bit eerie, which is something I like

  11. how is your day?

    please find time visiting poets who were here for you but you did not visit yet..

    Thanks..

    have fun. 🙂

    • Hi Jingle, I’ve kept up with most replys, as usual, but I’ve had poor internet at the moment so I’ll catch up with the few. Thanks for the reminder.
      The Lonely Recluse.

  12. this is a great piece! here’s mine.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/wedged/

  13. 🙂

  14. I really liked this!…flows very well!

  15. indeed time flies. nicely delivered! thumbs up for this one!

    Check Mine too: “Perfect”

  16. This flowed in Loop form (one of my favorites) a powerful message so simple in design here, much enjoyed! ~Rose

  17. another two lines with a g-g rhyme and it’d have been a sonnet, albeit without the pentameter! brilliant loop poetry here, doing it with rhyme is very difficult and you pulled it off very well! amazed, TLR! thank u for sharing..

    Here’s My Poem For Poets Rally

  18. Great rhythm and repetition. Thanks!

  19. ~POETRY MONTH CLAMBAKE: 2011~

    hope to see you!

    Luna

  20. […] ago I wrote a cyclic poem, I wondered if it was a one off or if I could do another one, so I tried and came up with this, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.